Writing Rant: Senioritis

I just realized it’s been over a month since my last post. This is a shame considering I am an English major and I am on summer vacation! And, didn’t I name this blog “I write to think” so I could splurge on thoughts with no particular direction in the first place? Indeed, I did. By the way, I am graduating next year with a B.A. in writing from a private college. Joy.  

(Quick note: To all you youngsters who think you don’t have time for college–you’re wrong. It FLIES by! Also, to you who can’t make up your mind on what major you should choose, I’ll pass on my friend Jewel’s advice: “Stay in school and don’t do drugs.”)  

For being the procrastinator, I mean, for “working well under pressure,” I am very worried about a deadline next year. Yes, next year. Spring 2011, when I present my senior capstone on writing: I read off excerpts from fiction, poetry, and personal essays that I wrote. The only part of this speech that I am not worried about is what I will say for my generic disclaimer. You know what I speak of: the speeches that begin with: “I have worked on this project for three months, but changed the theme last night,” or “I plastered a ‘I’d rather be fishing’ bumper sticker on my laptop–not the outside. On the keyboard.” or “I am a bad English major. I don’t like writing or reading, but this is what I came up with in my four years here….”  

So my generic disclaimers are ready to go! The problem with these capstone projects is that the speakers behind the disclaimers usually stun and inspire me. These disclaimers are actually humble ways of saying “look what I can do, I was once human like you, but now I am free!”  

I have no idea what I have to say. I don’t know that anything I say will matter. But then I think of what other people have to say. And well, they’re human. Therefore what they have to say is innately intriguing (granted it’s said with more than mere four letter words).  

For instance, my little brother. He is a marine. He has recently posted a note on arriving in Japan. He describes in simple sentences what he is experiencing, and it is fabulous. He even says he wants to write, but has nothing to write about–even though he is writing about an experience that only “the few and the proud” could have.  

In other words, even if the rest of the world doesn’t care what I have to say, writing is still a way to connect with friends, family, and myself. Thanks to poky family members, my words will almost always have readers (granted that they could actually FIND my blog).  

Writing is a process, requiring not only patience and great ideas, but habit. So this blog is about to get a whole lot choppier; habits take 6 weeks to cultivate. It will be choppy because I am choppy. It will stand because I stand. Oh, and I need to find stuff to write about. But hey, I write to think.  

Cheers.  

Here's to trying new things

About Faye

I blog for 5 sites.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Writing Rant: Senioritis

  1. 🙂
    A while ago I wrote a song called “Senioritis.”

    On a more related note, I’m pretty sure that whatever you are experiencing seems normal and not worthy of being mentioned while it’s happening. I’ve even felt that way during some of the most intense things I’ve done. Writing about anything can be very entertaining if it’s done well enough.

    For someone in a situation like me, reading about the simple peaceful things that are going on at home is very refreshing, and unlike the things that I experience.

  2. Elyse says:

    From someone who has just graduated and did the capstone. believe me, the words will present itself. mostly, you’ll say you were depressed, thought about changing your major and felt worse about your writing than you ever have before because you are actually realizing that you have a LONG way to go to become a quality writer and now that you have to read quality writing, you feel like you will never reach that goal. or you will say that it was great and be lying because those of us who have had experience in capstone will stare at you with enraged eyes and say, “annie, come on, just be honest, that’s the first part of writing anyway.”

    haha, dont worry about the deadlines, you have a long way before you need to worry about them and btw, you’ll never hit perfect anyway—a sign of good writing.

    Also…english majors need a major break in the summer. I haven’t written anything since may 14th. :-p

  3. jmansour says:

    I’m with ya on every one of those points, sister. The tasks ahead are daunting, to say the least…but I have a feeling that once we’re standing in the middle of them, we’ll laugh at the tower of pressure we built up for ourselves.

    Scratch that…when we’re standing in the middle of it all, we’ll probably be overwhelmed as we expect right now, if not more. But when we’re standing at the END of it all, we’ll be able to exhale.

    That was meant to be encouraging, but turned out to be honest instead. Ha…at least we’ll be doing it together, right? 🙂

Leave a Reply

